Introducing the Team

Sanjay Patel (National Programme Lead)

Sanjay is a consultant in paediatric infectious diseases working at Southampton Children’s Hospital. He is keen to improve the way that care is dSanjay.PNGelivered to children with infections and to improve the way that antibiotics are used (antibiotic stewardship). He runs educational courses across the country on diagnosing and managing serious infections in children. He is also involved in delivering integrated children's services across Hampshire. His passion for service improvement stems from the time he spent working in South Africa, where he graphically saw the impact of systems failures on childhood outcomes. These have been his main drivers in setting up the Healthier Together initiative.


Susan Dinsdale (South East Wales Programme Lead)

Susan is the Assistant Divisional Nurse for the Family and Therapies Division at Aneurin Bevan University Health Board, South East WalSusan Dinsdale.pnges.  Susan has experience across the whole urgent care pathway for children and young people.  Having specialised in Paediatric Intensive Care Nursing, later developed an interest in the care of children with complex health needs and long-term dependency on artificial airways and mechanical ventilation.  Susan has led on many service improvement initiatives that focus on the support and care of children out of hospital.  A common theme across initiatives is the development of innovative roles, and processes of safe care delivery that transcend the traditional organisational boundary lines of health, education, social care and partner organisations, and it is this that drew her to the Healthier Together Initiative.  Susan was presented the Queens Nurse Award from the Queens Nursing Institute in 2019 in recognition of efforts to improve community and specialist nursing services for children and young people.


Marion Schmidt (Paediatric Medical Lead South East Wales Programme)

Marion is a Consultant Paediatrician, who works as part of the  General Paediatric Team with an  interest in Paediatric Cardiology. She Marion Schmidt_501.JPGhas worked for the Aneurin Bevan Health Board for more than 15 years and enjoys the challenges and variety of working in a busy paediatric unit as part of a multidisplinary team.   Marion has an interest in teaching , training and guideline development,she has taken a lead on Paediatric Clinical Pathways within the trust for over 10 years ​​​and looks forward to further improve care across teams as part of the Healthier together initiative .

 


Sian Thomas (Paediatric Nurse Consultant Lead South East Wales Programme)

Sian is a Consultant Nurse in Child Health and her focus is primarily on all elements of Community Children’s Nursing Service which includeSian Thomas.jpgs the development of Care Closer to Home for children. She is a Florence Nightingale Foundation Digital Leadership Scholar and her project is developing a digital handover from hospital to community to influence the national standards for paediatric documentation. Her clinical and research interests focus on the administration of blended diet via enteral tube and has conducted research and published in this area. Sian champions the children’s rights and participation agenda within ABUHB and works actively with partners to ensure that this is central to service development. She is a Trustee of Ty Hafan Children’s Hospice.

 

Project Board  (Reporting to Senior Management Team for Family and Therapies and Clinical Futures Group)

Name

Designation

Role

Contact Details

Susan Dinsdale

Assistant Divisional Nurse, Families and Therapies

Programme Lead

Susan.dinsdale@wales.nhs.uk

Kara Hynes

 Service Improvement Manager

Project Manager

 Kara.hynes@wales.nhs.uk 

Dr Marion Schmidt

Consultant Paediatrician

Paediatric Medical Clinical Pathway Lead

Marion.schmidt@wales.nhs.uk

Sian Thomas

Consultant Nurse (Child Health)

Paediatric Nursing Pathway Lead (Acute and Community)

Sian.thomas14@wales.nhs.uk

Emma Mills

Consultant Midwife

Midwifery Pathways and information

Emma.mills@wales.nhs.uk

Anne Watkins Digital Lead Midwife Midwifery Pathways and information anne.watkins@wales.nhs.uk 

Clare Payne

Senior Nurse for Neonates

Neonatal Outreach Pathways

Clare.Payne@wales.nhs.uk

Gail Powell & Angela Lewis

Generic Health visiting Lead Flying Start Lead

Health visiting Pathways

Gail.Powell@wales.nhs.uk

Angela.Lewis5@wales.nhs.uk

Victoria Bodger

Senior Nurse for School Nursing and Immunisations

School Nursing/Immunisation Pathways

Victoria.bodger@wales.nhs.uk

Angela Phillips

Senior Nurse LAC

Vulnerable Children Pathways

Angela.Phillips@wales.nhs.uk

Professor Euan Hails

Consultant Nurse - CAMHS

CAMHS pathways

Euan.Hails@wales.nhs.uk

Dr Liz Gregory

Childrens Psychology

Psychology Pathways

Liz.Gregory@wales.nhs.uk

Donna Colwill

Childrens Centres Operational Manager

Complex Needs Pathways

Donna.Colwill@wales.nhs.uk

Charlotte Cogswell

Sexual Reproductive Health

SRH Pathways

Charlotte.Cogswell@wales.nhs.uk

Emma-Jayne Lewis

Therapies Assistant Manager

Therapies Pathways

Emma-Jane.Lewis@wales.nhs.uk

Rebecca Coles Paediatric Dietetic Manager Dietetic Pathways Rebecca.Coles@wales.nhs.uk 
Sharon Symonds Professional Lead of OT Children and Young People OT Pathways and information Sharon.Symonds@wales.nhs.uk
Pippa Cotterill Speech and Language Therapist ALN / Healthier Together ALN interface Pippa.Cotterill@wales.nhs.uk

Dr Isolde Shore-Nye

GP – Primary Care NCN representative

Primary Care Pathways

Isolde.Shore-Nye@wales.nhs.uk

Dr Robert Stafford

ED Consultant

ED Medical Pathways

Robert.Stafford@wales.nhs.uk

Dr Aideen Naughton

 Consultant, Public Health Wales

Public Health Representative

 Aideen.Naughton@wales.nhs.uk 

Mike Ogonovsky

Assistant Director - Informatics

Informatics

Mike.ogonovsky@wales.nhs.uk

Non Ellis

Welsh Language Support Officer

Welsh Language Standards

Non.Ellis@wales.nhs.uk

Local Authority Partners

Blaenau Gwent .PNG  Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council - for more information click here

 

Caerphilly .PNG Caerphilly County Borough Council - for more information click here

 

Monmouthshire LA .PNG Monmouthshire County Borough Council - for more information click here

 

Newport .PNG Newport City Council - for more information click here

 

Torfaen.PNG Torfaen County Borough Council - for more information click here

 

Third Sector Partners

 

Sparkle.PNG Sparkle is a charity that supports children, young people, and their families, across Gwent with disabilities and/or developmental difficulties.  For more information click here

 

 

 

 

 

 

Improving the physical and emotional health and wellbeing of expectant mothers, infants, children and young people throughout Aneurin Bevan University Health Board Area.

(N.B: The Family and Therapies team at ABUHB is NOT responsible for the content on the webpage links that we refer to in our resource sections and linked information to external sites. All information was accurate and appropriate at the time the webpage was created.)

Accessibility tools